MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE REGION F WATER PLANNING GROUP 10:30 A.M. MONDAY, JANUARY 25, 2010 AT SOUTHWEST COLLEGIATE INSTITUTE FOR THE DEAF 3200 AVENUE C – BIG SPRING, TEXAS

The Region F Water Planning Group (WPG) met at 10:30 a.m. on Monday, January 25, 2010 at Southwest Collegiate Institute for the Deaf, Big Spring, Texas. Voting members present were: Wendell Moody, Terry Scott, Will Wilde, Len Wilson, Richard Gist, Charles Hagood, Scott Holland, Kenneth Dierschke, Merle Taylor, John Grant, John Shepard, Ben Shepperd, and Paul Weatherby. Voting members Caroline Runge, Tim Warren, Stephen Brown, Robert Moore, and Woody Anderson were absent. Non-voting members present were Angela Kennedy, Bobby Farquhar, Winton Milliff, Gordon Hooper, Debbie McReynolds, Rick Harston, Leatrice Adams, Don Daniel, Michael McCulloch, and Jon Cartwright. Other non-voting members and interested parties present were: Simone Kiel and Jeremy Rice, Freese & Nichols (FNI); James Beach, LBG-Guyton; Allen Lange, Lipan-Kickapoo Water Conservation District; Joe David Ross, Sutton County; Tom Hoysa; Jim Duke, Clayton Williams; Willia Ledford, Joe Heflin's office; Donna Springer, Permian Basin UWCD; Chris Wingert and Rachel Denton (recorder of the minutes) from Colorado River Municipal Water District.

Call to Order

Secretary Will Wilde called the meeting to order at 10:35 A.M. A quorum was present.

Introductions and Opening Remarks

Voting and non-voting members and audience attendees introduced themselves.

Consider Approval of Minutes for the Region F WPG Meeting September 28, 2009

Motion was made by Merle Taylor, seconded by Paul Weatherby that the minutes of the September 28, 2009 Region F WPG meeting be accepted. The motion passed unanimously.

TWDB Report

Angela Kennedy informed the group an extension has been accepted for June 2010 for the Initial Project Plan.

Consultant Update and Legislative Recommendations

Simone Kiel updated the group on the current status of the Regional Water Plan and spoke briefly about Chapter 8- Legislative Recommendations. According to chapter 8, the group has the right to express their concerns to the Legislature and it was decided that the group would have their input in by the end of February 2010.

Chapter 1- Description of the Region

Simone Kiel presented the draft for Chapter 1- Description of the Region and allowed time for public comment. Merle Taylor made a motion seconded by Wendell Moody to consider adoption of the Chapter 1- Description of the Region. The motion passed unanimously.

<u>Chapter 5- Impacts of Water Management Strategies on Key Parameters of Water</u> <u>Quality and Impacts of Moving Water from Rural and Agricultural Areas</u>

Simone Kiel presented the draft for Chapter 5- Impacts of Water Management Strategies on Key Parameters of Water Quality and Impacts of Moving Water from Rural and Agricultural Areas and allowed time for public comment. Ben Shepard made a motion seconded by Merle Taylor to consider adoption of Chapter 5. The motion passed unanimously.

Chapter 6- Water Conservation and Drought Management Recommendations

Simone Kiel presented the draft for Chapter 6- Water Conservation and Drought Management Recommendations and allowed time for public comment. Paul Weatherby made a motion seconded by Richard Gist to consider adoption of Chapter 6. The motion passed unanimously.

<u>Chapter 7- Description of How the Regional Water Plan is Consistent with Long-</u> <u>Term Protection of the State's Water Resources, Agricultural Resources, and</u> <u>Natural Resources</u>

Simone Kiel presented the draft for chapter 7- Description of How the Regional Water Plan is Consistent with Long-Term Protection of the State's Water Resources, Agricultural Resources, and Natural Resources and allowed time for public comment. Len Wilson made a motion seconded by Terry Scott to consider adoption of chapter 7. The motion passed unanimously.

Consider Acceptance of the Financial Report

Mr. Grant reviewed and financial report with the group. Wendell Moody made a motion, seconded by John Shepard, that the group approves the financial report. The motion passed unanimously.

Consider Voting Members

John Grant informed the group that Steve Hofer has resigned his position as a voting member representing the Environmentalist slot. He mentioned that Caroline Runge held the other Environmentalist position and that the group could leave Mr. Hofer's slot vacant for the time being. Len Wilson made a motion seconded by Kenneth Dierschke to accept Steve Hofer's resignation and leave the position vacant until further notice. The motion passed unanimously.

Consider Designated Alternates

Kenneth Dierschke made a motion seconded by Len Wilson to accept Alan Zeman from Coleman County as the Designated Alternate for Larry Turnbough. The motion passed unanimously. Scott Holland made a motion seconded by Kenneth Dierschke to accept Don Daniel as the Designated Alternate for Terry Scott. The motion passed unanimously. Paul Weatherby made a motion seconded by Len Wilson to accept Jon Cartwright as the Designated Alternate for Paul Weatherby. The motion passed unanimously.

Consider Non-Voting Members

John Grant made a motion seconded by Scott Holland to accept Tom Hoysa as a Non-Voting Member. The motion passed unanimously.

Next Meeting Date

The next meeting was scheduled for April 26, 2010.

<u>Adjourn</u>

There was no further discussion and the meeting adjourned at 1:35 p.m.

Will Wilde, Secretary Region F Water Planning Group John Grant, Chair Region F Water Planning Group